Jesse "Sparkling clean and very well maintained!"

April 09, 2019

Sparkling clean and very well maintained! Location is excellent with easy accessibility to food and groceries. View from the balcony is unreal. Oceanfront property with unobstructed view of the ocean!

Erin " Plus, it had the #1 view of sunset in Maui!"

April 07, 2019

Mark & Annette are the best hosts we've ever rented from on AirBnb. Their oceanfront property was sparkling clean and within walking distance to fantastic beaches and restaurants. Plus, it had the #1 view of sunset in Maui - from the lanai! Mark & Annette went above and beyond as hosts by providing tips for local activities, making check in/out extremely easy, and were quick to respond to all of our inquiries. Hospitality and location 10/10. Mahalo for a wonderful trip and we can't wait to visit again!

Elisa "This was the perfect spot for our stay in Maui!"

April 03, 2019

This was the perfect spot for our stay in Maui! It’s in a great location and the ocean view is even better than it appears in the photos. The apartment is just as described and Mark and Annette were super helpful and quick to respond To our questions. We highly recommend it to anyone headed to Maui!

Carrie "We could not have loved Annie’s Surf Shack more."

March 31, 2019

We could not have loved Annie’s Surf Shack more. The view was phenomenal, the location perfect (close to beaches, restaurants, our favorite was Fleetwoods in Lahaina). Do not hesitate to book this place, you will not be disappointed!!!

Grant "Great spot with an awesome view from a balcony on the top floor. Really enjoyed this place."

February 18, 2019

Great spot with an awesome view from a balcony on the top floor. Really enjoyed this place.

Teresa "Marks place is exactly as he describes it."

February 16, 2019

Marks place is exactly as he describes it. His communications are clear and informative and his recommendations on the local area are spot on.

Shaima "The view is amazing, and the location is wonderful."

February 08, 2019

The pictures are accurate, the view is amazing, and the location is wonderful. It’s just past the hustle and bustle of the Lahaina crowds. The building was great - has elevators and a pool, bbq and a great seating area to watch the ocean and sunset and tan during the day. The little beach beside the property was very cute and barely anyone was there. Great host that responds quickly.

Thomas " Great view of Molokai and Lanai.

February 05, 2019

The Welpman’s and their property are absolutely fantastic. Great view of Molokai and Lanai. I spoke with Mark Welpman,the owner, a few times during our stay on small items that occurred. He took care of them immediately and even had a friend of his come over on one of the items. We have never met them, but they treated us like family. It can’t get better than that! Thanks Mark and Annie. We really appreciated you and your hospitality.

Myra "Condo is nicely decorated with a stunning view, whale watching and sunset viewing on the lanai."

January 24, 2019

Mark is a wonderful host, very prompt with communication, and he supplied us with everything we could need for our stay in Maui. HIs condo is nicely decorated with a stunning view, whale watching and sunset viewing on the lanai. He had wonderful tips on sites and beaches to see, hikes to do and places to eat at. Definitely a five star location!

Robert "As Advertised....awesome!"

January 16, 2019

Just finished a 9 day stay. The view and the location was fantastic. The condition of the furnishings, decorations and supplies were all great. Mark was very responsive and helpful as to keeping us informed and was a perfect host to their rental unit. The building is from the late 70’s but that’s the charm of the older building rentals as the tenants are mostly owners and very friendly. This unit, 412, was modernized nicely. We attended a building social event with music and pot luck food. My wife along with another learned dancer even did a couple Hawaiian dances for those attending, (she’s a lifelong enthusiast). The view from the condo affords whale watching like I’ve never seen. 4 floors up gives an amazing view. We fully recommend you stay here and try it. ...Only slightly negative comment is the shared BBQs ran out of fuel twice while there and both times were slightly later in the evening so we weren’t prepared for that. Moral of the story...cook earlier. In summary, the time spent there will be remembered as fantastic and we will talk about the view from the lanai to anyone who will listen.

Aaron B. "Amazing views from the lanai. Very clean and comfortable condo!"

January 01, 2020

Obviously the best part is the view from the lanai, but the condo was very clean, super comfortable to be in and a great deal for the price. Mark was very quick to respond and an excellent host. The location is perfect. Very quiet property, close to everything on the entire west side and an overall real gem. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone!

Mohini "The view is amazing- sunsets in the evening and rainbows in the morning!"

December 25, 2018

The view is amazing- sunsets in the evening and rainbows in the morning! There's a small beach right next to the building that we loved playing on. The place is clean and has pretty much everything that you would need for spending time at the beach. Great food and coffee places within a couple of miles. We had a wonderful time and would absolutely love to stay here again.

Daman "Gorgeous view of the ocean!"

December 15, 2018

Mark's place was fantastic; he is very easy to contact and offers a lot of tips/help, if needed. Gorgeous view of the ocean, near by small beach, close by car to Kaanapali resort area and Lahaina town. Place was clean, very easy check-in with no keys (always great!) and overall, a great place to stay for a relaxing vacation.

Daniela "The view is incredible!!

November 29, 2018

The view is incredible!! We were able to see turtles and whales from the balcony during our stay. Communication was clear and effective with the host. So many thoughtful recommendations and a very detailed guest guide for Maui. The location was great and very clean. I would definitely stay here again and invite anyone looking for a great experience in west Maui to book as well !

Heather "Loved this condo!!!

November 27, 2018

Loved this condo!!! The lanai has a great view and provides a lot of relaxation. We stayed here for four nights and watched the sunset every night in the condo! It was so peaceful. Mark and Annette also gave some good food recs and provided great communication. The place is super clean and quiet. My husband and I would definitely stay here again.

Matt "Exactly what I wanted and expected!"

November 13, 2018

Exactly what I wanted and expected. Perfect location, comfortable bed, amazing views from the balcony, everything in the condo worked, restaurants bars and beach were all close by. Mark was very friendly and communicative. I will be back soon.

Patrick "An incredible ocean view!"

November 07, 2018

Mark & Annette’s condo is perfect. Great location, very very clean and an incredible ocean view. The beach gear was very useful. We hope to go back to Maui and this condo in the near future.

Christopher "It was very clean and had a spectacular view!"

November 01, 2018

Marks place was just as he described. It was very clean and had a spectacular view! It was also very close to town and great beaches. Very happy with our decision to stay!!

Rhea "The view was spectacular- just like the pictures, if not, better."

October 25, 2018

The view was spectacular- just like the pictures, if not, better. We had dinner on the lanai every evening that we were there. The space was perfect for my husband, 3 yo. daughter, and I. It was also located near many shopping centers and close to Lahaina. I am so grateful for the beach accessories provided and I loved that we were able to take advantage of the pool. My family and I followed the tip of sleeping in the living area with the lanai wide open- best sleep I’ve had in months. This was the best experience. Thank you so much, Mark and Annette! We would love to stay there again in the future!

Jim & Amy "This condo unit is exactly as advertised."

September 30, 2018

This condo unit is exactly as advertised - the view from the lanai was fantastic and the location very convenient! The water was a bit brackish right in front of the building during our stay due to mountain runoff so the visibility wasn't great (no turtle sightings) but there are plenty of beautiful beaches nearby and we visited many of them. Many thanks for the extensive and descriptive suggestions for beaches, hiking, restaurants, etc. We consulted the list several times a day! We especially appreciated all the beach gear provided - chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, cooler, etc. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of fans (overhead and floor) for the occasions where there wasn't much breeze coming through the unit. Good walking distance to several places to eat (Village Coffee Shop has a great breakfast items). We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend.

Byung Woo, "This was our 2nd time staying and would gladly come again."

September 05, 2018

A great place right by the ocean. Loved and enjoyed watching the sunset from the balcony. Truly amazing. Everything is always neat and clean. About 15-minute drive to Lahaina town or to Honolua Bay. This was our 2nd time staying and would gladly come again.

Jorgen, " I was a little hesitant to write this review because I would love to keep this place a hidden gem "

September 03, 2018

This Airbnb is perhaps the greatest of its kind! Honestly the title of this posting says it all. I pictured myself staying there and then took the plunge and I was not disappointed!! I stayed there over Labor Day weekend and was a bit nervous since it was a week after Hurricane Lane.

 

Mark was super responsive and was giving me live updates of the Hurricane and Airbnb status. Luckily the Hurricane did no damage to Maui (except less tourists came that weekend which was great for us)! Mark was super responsive and willing to answer any/all questions we had.

 

This Airbnb is in a perfect location (just north of Lahaina) and the view is absolutely stunning! You are literally right on the water and watching the sunset from the balcony will melt your heart. It's also a convenient 10 minute walk from Maui brewing and an adorable coffee shop.

 

Mark offers a lot of excellent suggestions for the island AND the Airbnb is stocked with boogie boards, snorkel gear, flippers, a large cooler, and a couple beach chairs (basically everything you'll need for the best Maui vacation).

I was a little hesitant to write this review because I would love to keep this place a hidden gem but Mark and Annette deserve all the credit and praise for this lovely home!!

 

Thank you so much for letting us stay and I hope to be back very soon!! :)

William, "I cannot say enough good things about both the apartment and Mark &Annette."

January 01, 2020

I cannot say enough good things about both the apartment and Mark &Annette. If you are staying in Maui and in Lahaina book this place!

 

The apartment is in a great and quiet location with an ocean view. You can watch the sunset from your deck or the chairs downstairs in the back. The best part is the check in booklet that they have put together for all of their guests. My wife and I did almost everything in the booklet and ate at almost all the places also. It was great having a little guide to go off of and even to compare to the places that we bookmarked to see. Anything that matched up we definitely did and we saw/did things that were only on their guide.

 

They also have items for the beach on the lanai that you can use which came in very handy. I tried to boogie board (fail), we used the umbrella and beach towels that were provided, the beach chairs and if you need it there is also a very large cooler!

 

They are very accurate when they say that the place will be hot if you do not leave the front door open and the sliding door to the lanai open. The first night we slept in the bedroom with the ceiling and floor fan on but it was pretty hot. The next night we slept on the pull out couch with the doors open and the breeze was amazing. This also gave us the added benefit of hearing the ocean while we slept and waking up to the ocean sounds.

 

Honestly, before this review becomes way to long, just book this place! You will not regret it. P.S. Get the chinese food across the street. You will not regret it. Mahalo!

Diane, "What a beautiful place and location--the ocean views and sunsets were amazing!"

August 16, 2018

What a beautiful place and location--the ocean views and sunsets were amazing! We loved the sound of the waves and waking up seeing the ocean every morning. Very convenient to stores and restaurants. The condo was clean and very comfortable. We definitely hope to be back again very soon!!!! Thank you again for everything, Diane and Will.

Johanne, "Nice location! Close to everything!"

August 09, 2018

Nice location! Close to everything! The place was clean, quiet and absolutely perfect for two persons! We really enjoyed our stay. We snorkelling almost every day and saw many turtles and fishes of different shapes and colors. The sunsets were beautiful. We loved Maui! We highly recommend this place!

Alison, "Mark and Annette’s place was delightful."

July 23, 2018

Mark and Annette’s place was delightful and we loved the feeling of being right on the water. 

Eliza, "This was the perfect getaway for our family."

June 07, 2018

This was the perfect getaway for our family. Clean and well cared for. We loved using the boogie boards, beach chairs, toys and towels. The pool was wonderfully warm and relaxing after long days exploring the island. The outdoor grills are clean and easy to use. The kitchen is well equipped with all the pots, pans, utensils, dishware and tupperware you’ll need to cook and store food. There’s a nice variety of spices to use for flavoring. Be sure to pick up anything else you need to cook, including oil and condiments. The bed and the pullout couch were both really comfortable and we were happy to sleep with the windows open at night to hear the ocean and let the breezes keep us cool. The front door has a locking metal screen door, which made us feel safe and secure sleeping with the door open at night. Gorgeous views from the lanai. Great little beach just off the property. Convenient shops and restaurants nearby. Annie’s surf shack is laid back and comfortable. It feels like home. Thanks to Mark and Annie for letting us pretend it was ours for a few days, for checking in with us via message during our stay to make sure everything was going well for us, and for providing us with great information ahead of time on where to shop, eat and play nearby.

Jacqueline, "Annie’s surf shack was amazing, it exceeded expectations."

June 02, 2018

Annie’s surf shack was amazing, it exceeded expectations. It’s not often the reality of a place is even better than the advertised photos but this is true for the condo. The view is amazing, the condo is incredibly clean, and it felt like a home away from home. I would recommend this condo and will certainly be back

Anja, We had a great time in Mark and Annette's accommodation on Maui.

May 26, 2018

We had a great time in Mark and Annette's accommodation on Maui. Check-in was no problem even after midnight, as the door was accessible through a code that was created individually for each guest! We also got great tips on things to do and restaurants in the area. Really a great stay!

Jared, "Wonderful location and great value!"

May 26, 2018

Wonderful location and great value!

Anthony "Incredible view right off the ocean front."

May 20, 2018

Incredible view right off the oceanfront. Clean condo that was a perfect place to relax and watch the sunset after a long day exploring.What's this item about? What makes it interesting? Write a catchy description to grab your audience's attention...

Laura, "Amazing view of the ocean from the balcony."

May 16, 2018

We enjoyed our visit and like other reviewers have said, the best thing about the place was the amazing view of the ocean from the balcony. We traveled with our 2-year old and set up our crib in the bedroom and slept in the living room per Mark's recommendation to enjoy the breeze and ocean sounds. It's a typical older condo and was very clean and equipped with plenty of towels and beach toys and chairs that made it easy to enjoy nearby beaches. Met lots of other vacationers in the pool and they were all very considerate. It wasn't fancy, but the views were spectacular and the value great.

Yasmeen, " Location is phenomenal, literally right on the beach!"

May 12, 2019

Fantastic airbnb! Clean, spacious, and had everything we needed. Location is phenomenal, literally right on the beach. Thank you Mark!

Laura, "The view really is as great as it looks in the pictures."

May 08, 2019

Great, comfortable space near resorts and beaches, but far enough away to feel quiet. The view really is as great as it looks in the pictures.

Kapil, "Amazing view from the balcony and nice living room."

May 06, 2019

Amazing view from the balcony and nice living room. Very helpful to have all beach gear provided! We didn't end up seeing as many turtles as other guests but very nice to have binoculars too. Good location for those who want to stay in west Maui mostly (budget extra time for excursions like road to Hana drive )

Chris, "The condo was awesome!"

April 30, 2019

The condo was awesome!

 

All of the details on the listing were accurate and truthfully represented the condo. The deck was awesome and the view from it was amazing (even better than the pictures shown with the listing). We loved having access to the beach chairs, cooler and snorkeling gear - this saved us some money!

 

The apartment was clean and updated with current technology (WiFi, cable; etc).

 

We would definitely rent this condo again if and when we come back to Maui!

 

Don’t hesitate; if this place is available, take it!

Osby, "Great oceanfront view!"

January 01, 2020

Mark's place is in a good location and has a great oceanfront view. The sunsets are spectacular. Note that there is no A.C. There are ceiling fans and fans you can connect. Overall the place was great and as described. Mahalo!

Nelya, "The location and view are once in a lifetime!"

April 06, 2019

This is a remarkable place. The location and view are once in a lifetime, and the space is very comfortable for a small family. One of us slept on the balcony every night, which was glorious. Mark was very gracious and clear in his communication. The amenities that were provided for water activities (snorkel gear, body boards, towels, etc) were greatly appreciated and heavily used. We couldn’t be happier with our stay. Mahalo!

Byung, "Everything was better than my expectations!"

April 04, 2019

I had a great time. Everything was better than my expectation. The view, furniture, location, easy access. We saw whales passing by every day. It' very far.

Jerimy, "Mark and his place were a true ocean front property. It was one of the cleanest places were have stayed."

March 31, 2019

Mark and his place were a true ocean front property. It was one of the cleanest places were have stayed. Communication was easy and responsive as was check in. The area is quiet but plenty of places are near by. The listing is accurate with respect to air flow and the bedroom vs couch bed for sleeping. They have plenty of fans to keep air flow sufficient. . Property is well maintained and other folks are friendly. Area felt very safe. Mark was an honest and friendly host.

Ozzie, "This place is lovely and the proximity to beaches, restaurants, and neighboring activities is great."

March 29, 2019

This place is lovely and the proximity to beaches, restaurants, and neighboring activities is great.

Cliff, "Perfect oceanfront condo with wonderful lanai and sunset views. Clean and well-furnished, and Mark is great to deal with. Highly recommend!"

March 22, 2019

Perfect oceanfront condo with wonderful lanai and sunset views. Clean and well-furnished, and Mark is great to deal with. Highly recommend!

Tyler, " Great whale watching (lots of whale breaches) and turtle watching (most we saw was 5-6 turtles at once swimming by the seawall)."

March 13, 2019

Really enjoyed our stay!

 

Mark's place was excellent and had everything you would need. Very clean and enjoyed the decor. We were here for 10 days in mid-March; this is our second time staying in Kahana Reef (first at Mark's place). Being on the top floor is great view-wise. Great whale watching (lots of whale breaches) and turtle watching (most we saw was 5-6 turtles at once swimming by the seawall). This place is really close to all the amenities you need (we mostly made our own food), and is a relaxing spot on the island if you're looking for some good R & R. The highlight of our stay was our snorkeling excursion with Maui Snorkel Charters Inc. which we highly recommend! We would definitely stay here again!

 

Thanks Mark.

Annie "We enjoyed seeing whales every day and even dolphins.!"

February 24, 2019

"We love this area of Lahaina/Kahana. The buildings are a bit older but they tend to be quieter. The views from the lani were spectacular. We enjoyed seeing whales every day and even dolphins. This condo is very comfortable and with the breezes flowing through the unit you are set to enjoy yourself. Love that there are extra bath towels and beach towels provided. This was our first experience with Airbnb and we were very pleased."

If you want a view, this is your place. We truly enjoyed watching the whales. Beautiful updated unit in a nice quiet location. We loved the area of Kahana as well, nice and quiet but still close to everything you need. And Mark was so incredibly helpful the entire step of the way. We will be back !!

This condo could not have been more perfect for our stay in Maui! There is nothing better than sitting on a lanai on a picture perfect day sipping the world's best coffee (Kona, of course!) watching the whales breach in the waters below us with the mountains of distant islands in the background! Mark was just wonderful to deal with and the accommodations were exactly as we saw pictured on the website. Highly recommend !

Wow, what a great spot! We had a wonderful experience at staying at Mark’s condo. The balcony view was the highlight with stunning views Moloka’i and Lanai. We saw several whales and sea turtles each day, both outside the condo and down the street at S Turn Beach. The condo itself is very nicely updated/furnished and has everything you might need during your stay - snorkel gear, boogie boards, a cooler for the beach, plenty of towels, etc. We also found Mark’s guidebook to be very useful and tried out several of the recommended hikes, local beaches and restaurants - all were hits! Mark was also very easy to communicate with throughout the entire booking process and stay. Loved Annie’s Surf Shack! We will be back!What's this item about? What makes it interesting? Write a catchy description to grab your audience's attention...

This condo was wonderful. Comfy, clean, with nice amenities as well. The view was the highlight. You feel like you are on top of the ocean (you almost are.) Sitting on the lanai and watching the whales swim by was the highlight for me.

Love this place! So clean, cute décor without being cluttered, easy to find and good access to the main highway. Loved the extra touches like many places to charge devices, lots of towels and comfy beds, books to read, paddle boards and beach chairs; even easy access to our own Netflix and amazon accounts (not that we watched much tv with all the other stuff to do!) . Easy beach access and a lovely grassy area to hang out as well. Short walk to Village coffee and Miso Phat sushi which were both great. No need for air conditioner with the sea breeze coming in. Spent loads of time just sitting on the balcony watching whales and rainbows and people in the water. Would love to stay again!

Amazing hosts, very responsive to questions or concerns, lots of local tips, awesome home & views! A quiet area yet close to many sights & activities. Highly recommended!